Frédéric DUFAUX

Directeur de recherche – CNRS

L2S, CentraleSupélec
3 rue Joliot Curie
91190 Gif-sur-Yvette, France


PhD Students


Théo Gigant: “Representations of encoded features for extractive and abstractive summarization of multimodal content” (start: September 2022, on-going) (co-supervised with Camille Guinaudeau and Marc Decombas)

Rodrigo Borba Pinheiro: “3D Point Cloud Compression using Deep Neural Networks” (start: November 2021, on-going) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise and Jean-Eudes Marvie)

Marouane Tliba: “Evaluation of the perceptual quality of 3D point clouds by deep learning” (start: October 2021, on-going) (co-supervised with Aladine Chetouani and Giuseppe Valenzise)


Maurice Quach: “Compression of points cloud and quality evaluation” (thesis defended on July 6, 2022) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise)

Milan Stepanov: “Selected topics in learning-based coding for light field imaging” (thesis defended on July 4, 2022) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise)

Mourad Aklouf: “Video for Events: Compression and Transport for the Next Generation Video Codec” (thesis defended on May 4, 2022) (co-supervised with Michel Kieffer and Marc Leny)

Abhishek Goswami: “Content-aware HDR tone mapping algorithms” (thesis defended on March 21, 2022) (co-supervised with Wolf Hauser)

Chen Kang: “Aesthetic quality evaluation of a video by deep learning” (thesis defended on December 14, 2020) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise)

Florent Chiaroni: “Application of deep learning techniques for autonomous vehicles” (thesis defended on February 3, 2020) (co-supervised with Mohamed-Cherif Rahal and Nicolas Hueber)

Mohsen Abdoli: “Advanced intra-image prediction for H.266 video coding” (thesis defended on June 4, 2019) (co-supervised with Patrice Brault, Pierre Duhamel, and Félix Henry)

Aakanksha Rana: “Local visual features for HDR video” (thesis defended on March 15, 2018) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise)

Benoit Boyadjis: “Video coding optimization for ultra-low bit rate” (thesis defended on February 14, 2018) (co-supervised with Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu)

Emin Zerman: “HDR video quality assessment” (thesis defended on January 19, 2018) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise)

Andrei Purica: “Pre-processing and semantic video coding for drones” (thesis defended on June 26, 2017) (co-supervised with Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu)

Antoine Dricot: “Light-field image and video compression for future immersive applications” (thesis defended on March 1, 2017) (co-supervised with Marco Cagnazzo, Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu, and Joel Jung)

Maxim Karpushin: “Four-dimensional (3D time) visual feature processing” (thesis defended on November 3, 2016, 1st prize of the Telecom Foundation) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise)

Paul Lauga: “High Dynamic Range representation for digital video” (thesis defended on December 3, 2015) (co-supervised with Giuseppe Valenzise)

Yafei Xing: “Compression methods for digital holographic data” (thesis defended on January 27, 2015) (co-supervised with Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu and Mounir Kaaniche)

Marc Decombas: “Ultra low bandwidth video compression based on semantic content” (thesis defended on November 22, 2013) (co-supervised with Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu, Erwann Renan, and François Capman)

Abdal-bassir Abou El-ailah: “Techniques for improving compression performance in distributed video coding” (thesis defended on December 14, 2012) (co-supervised with Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu, Marco Cagnazzo, and Joumana Farah)